2007 News Releases

For immediate release: January 24, 2007

Bates Elected Chairman of Dallas Fed’s San Antonio Branch Board

DALLAS—The board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas' San Antonio Branch has elected J. Dan Bates of San Antonio as chairman for 2007.

Bates was appointed to the San Antonio Branch board in 2005 by the Federal Reserve System Board of Governors and served as chairman pro tem in 2005 and 2006.

He is president and chief executive officer of Southwest Research Institute. Bates also serves as chairman of the board of Signature Science LLC and Southwest Automotive Research Center.

He holds a B.B.A. from Texas State University and an M.S. from Texas A&M University at Kingsville. Bates is a licensed certified public accountant in Texas.

The San Antonio Branch board consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed board and three by the Federal Reserve System Board of Governors.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit www.dallasfed.org.


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307
e-mail: james.hoard@dal.frb.org


Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Seal
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

2200 N. Pearl St., Dallas, Texas 75201 | 214.922.6000 or 800.333.4460
Disclaimer / Privacy Policy